Web Push Permission and Reachability

Overview - Push Permission

Push notifications permission is an app-level permission that your app gets on a user's device. This permission is required to display push notifications on users' notification trays. If this permission is turned off, the notifications that you send will not be visible to the user; they will get delivered in the background to your app silently. 

How Does Push Permission Work?

Permission for Web push depends on the browser and the device's operating system (OS). There are a few commonalities in the behavior of most of the browsers:

  • By default, the website cannot send notifications until the user grants permission.
  • The user must grant permission to the website by:
    • Accepting permission on a dialog box provided by the browser
    • Enabling permission from the browser notification settings for the website
  • If the user grants permission, the app can send notifications to the user.
  • If the user does not grant permission, the app cannot send notifications to the user.
  • The behavior of the dialog box differs depending on the browser.
Browser Behavior on clicking “Allow” (or equivalent action) Behavior on clicking “Block” (or equivalent action) Behavior on Ignoring the Dialog Box
Chrome, Opera Permission is granted to the website and it can send notifications. Permission is denied to the website and it cannot send notifications.
The website cannot also ask for permission through the dialog box again.
Permission is denied to the website and it cannot send notifications.
The website can ask for permission through the dialog box again.
Safari, Edge, Firefox Permission is granted to the website and will be able to send notifications. Permission is denied to the website and it cannot send notifications.
The website cannot also ask for permission through the dialog box again.
Permission is denied to the website and it cannot send notifications.
The website cannot also ask for permission through the dialog box again.

Tracking Push Permissions

From April 17th, 2024 onwards, you will be able to track Push permission for a user from the Reachability Push Web attribute. 

This attribute will have the following values:

Value Description
201 - Reachable and opted in This applies to all users who have a valid push token and are opted-in from at least one browser.
202 - Not reachable due to opt-out This applies to all users who have opted out from all browsers where they had a valid push token.
200 - Reachable and opt-in status unknown This applies to all users who have not yet opened the website after the tracking changes are released and have a valid push token.

 

info

Information

With this change, you may see a drop in iOS or Web total reachable user count and sent count as opted-out users are no longer considered reachable. Rest assured, your delivery rates and campaign interactions such as click counts and conversion counts will remain unaffected.

You can query the Reachability Push Web attribute using a segmentation query to get counts of each of these users independently by navigating to Segment > Create Segment on the MoEngage Dashboard.

Tracking Changes in Push Permission

The following are the events for Web Push reachability:

Name Description Platform
Subscribed to Push Tracked when a user subscribes to Push Notifications. Web
Unsubscribed to Push Tracked when a user directly unsubscribes from Push Notifications. Web

Opt-In Methods

You can configure the Web Push Opt-In information in this section. Opt-In refers to how push permission is sought from the users on your webpage. For more information, refer to Configure Web Push Settings.

Previous

Next

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

How can we improve this article?